Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone Book Journey’s Harry Potter Re-Read

I finished book one of the series last night. Rather than give a review, because I feel like everyone definitely knows what this book is about by now, I thought I would give my thoughts on what I noticed with my first re-read through the book.

Have you ever noticed once you pick up a new hobby you suddenly see it in books, movies or shows that you otherwise didn’t notice it in before? That was definitely happening with me in this book. I picked up knitting in between the time I read this book last and I let a little squeal each time it popped up in the book. I of course could not have forgotten the Weasley sweaters but I forgot about Hagrid knitting on the train.

I suddenly have a new favorite character as well. I had somehow overlooked Professor McGonagall previously. I love her sass and how she deals with the students in the first book. I like to believe that if I had ever become a teacher I would have been like her.

The first book does an excellent job of setting up the atmosphere of Hogwarts and an introduction to some of the characters. I’m looking forward to completing the series this time through. Also feeling inspired to do some Harry Potter knits.

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Professor MacGonagall is one of my favourite characters. I SO love her wit and sass, she’s brilliant.

    Reply
  2. Snape has always been my favorite but McGonagall is a close second. She is a fantastic, sassy character and is only made better by Maggie Smith.

    Reply
    • Snape was always your favourite? I came to appreciate him later on. Something I always had trouble with understanding, and maybe you could help me out, *SPOILERS* is that Snape was trying to thwart Quirrell but I can’t imagine how he managed to do so. Surely the other profs knew what was going on?

      Reply
      • I have this feeling that I will grow to appreciate Snape more in the later books as well.

        *Possible SPOILER*

        I am thinking or wondering if Snape had more insider knowledge from what I know from the later movies. I haven’t read the later books in the series.

      • Oh, there is SO much that the movies left out, and not just about Snape. You are in for SUCH a treat! šŸ˜€

      • Even with the 7th book though, I thought he was OK but not the hero everyone thought he was?

      • I’m thinking not so much a hero, but much more than he was ever given credit for. We have to keep in mind how, through the entire series, we only saw him through Harry’s eyes ’til we were given all that wonderful info in DH šŸ™‚

      • Yes. It would be cool if their was a Snape focused book.

  3. I noticed this time around that Hagrid was knitting too! :p After reading your post it makes me want to learn how to knit ha! Anyway my kind of knitting would probably be like Mrs weasley’s magic knitting https://38.media.tumblr.com/4a27f3354c58896b35e190cee1a87c67/tumblr_mhzgscHi5M1rnkab5o1_250.gif.

    Reply
    • That would be awesome. I have an unofficial Harry Potter knitting pattern book. There’s a pattern for a Weasley Sweater in it. I don’t think I will be taking that on but at some point I want to make a few things from it.

      Reply
  4. I do have a soft spot in my heart for Snape… obviously more so as the books go on. You are right through MacGonagall is amazing. She is level and can talk to Dumbledore as an equal and he takes her advice. She is an unsung hero in the books for sure. I put my post up today.

    Reply
  5. I’ve always loved McGonagall actually šŸ™‚ She’s a tough softy šŸ™‚ And every time I’ve read about Hagrid knitting, I think of a biker I met a few decades ago (when I was a waitress) and he was there when it was slow and I’d been crocheting something. This burly, leather-and-studs guy asked me to teach him how to crochet šŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. I love McGonagall, she’s one classy and sassy lady! I love that she has such a hard edge but then you see her at the Christmas feast giggling and it’s just amazing. Also can someone please tell Hagrid not to keep animals in his coat…that poor owl. ;P

    Reply
  7. I love McGonagall too – she is one of my favorite characters. As for spying your hobby everywhere – I kind of feel that way about Harry Potter! It seems like I see HP stuff or references everywhere, especially as my obsession has grown over the years.

    Reply
  8. I know exactly what you mean about being sensitive to things you love in books. I love hearing that you pick up new favorite characters as you read along. Right now I’m not very keen on Hermione and I want to just sit down and soak up whatever Dumbledore has to say. It will be interesting to see if I warm up to Hermione down the road. Right now she irritates me. LOL!

    Reply
  9. In the past, I listened to the audiobooks, but just couldn’t bear to do that again, so I read it in print for the first time for this read-along. I was shocked at how much detail I hadn’t picked up from my previous exposure to the story! One thing that I found funny was Rowlings going on about Mr. Dursely’s business (he sells drills.) Not only does she spend a few paragraphs generalizing on his workday, but in the very first chapter of “Chamber of Secrets,” she mentions it again! In fact, it’s rather the point of the dinner party… Anyway, it probably doesn’t have anything to do with anything, but I found it quirky šŸ™‚

    In general, Harry’s England and Hogwart’s is deceptively rich with detail. At first, I thought I was projecting into the story; but as I was watching the movie, I realized I was making summary judgements on a lot of the props and sets, “The cloak isn’t right” or “That’s exactly how I pictured the lighthouse,” etc. so obviously Rowlings had deftly set out the baselines for comparison!

    Even though this was my third experience with the book and second with the movie, I feel like I’m seeing much of it for the first time. And, not coincidentally, now I see why these stories are so often re-read šŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. I really like Professor McGonagall as well! She is a great character.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 165 other followers

  • Goodreads

  • Book Journey’s Harry Potter Re-Read

