My Spinning Life

As I mentioned before, I haven’t been reading much this week. In all honesty I feel like I read super slow compared to other bloggers, but I’m not going to let it stress me out.

I did want to get a post up for you guys though and thought that talking a little more about my other hobbies might be a good way to do so. So let’s talk about spinning yarn!

I started out spinning on a drop spindle. Which is basically stick with a round portion/wheel looking thing attached to it with a hook. You attach a leader yarn and then flick it to build up twist and use the twist to attach the fiber and voila! You start spinning. It is a bit more complicated than that, but I wanted to give you the basics. I’m still a new spinner myself.

Well about three month’s ago I decided that I really wanted to move up to a spinning wheel. So I purchased this.

Image

And a closer look at the wheel portion:

Image

My wheel is an Ashford Traveller Double Drive. I’ve loved her so far ( I think she needs a nickname!) and it’s been a great wheel to learn on. I’m still new and not producing amazing quality yarn yet. The thing is that it is soothing. I love the methodical rhythm of it and the feel of the fiber as it flows through my hand. Definitely something I’ll keep up and practice with.

Here’s a look at what I’ve been working on. It’s a 50% merino 50% tencel silk blend that I purchased on Etsy (The shop is currently empty and has been for months so I will not link)

Image

So what are your plans for the weekend? Reading, knitting, or spinning? Got another hobby you want to tell me about?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I know what you mean, I’ve read about 2 chapters this week, but I do remind myself that its only because I follow books blogs that I am even aware of so many prolific readers, its not necessary to keep up with anyone, just to take solace in a good book whenever you feel so inspired.

    My mother used to spin, we lived on a sheep farm, so the source of fibre was right there, I loved to listen to the whir of the wheel and see that giant fleece turn into yarn.

    I’ll be taking the children to the library today as it is about to be renovated and will be closed for all the summer, so today is the day to stock up on books and DVD’s for them, 2 months is too long not to have access to the library!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 165 other followers

  • Goodreads

  • Book Journey’s Harry Potter Re-Read

