Best of 2012 (Thus Far) and BEA Hopefuls ArmchairBEA

Hello! Today for ArmchairBEA I’m going to tell you about my favorite book of 2012 thus far and talk about which BEA books that I’m hopeful will become 2012 favorites.

First I have to say that I’m embarrassed to realize after I went down my read list that I’ve only read two books published in 2012 this year. I know, I’m slacking right?!

So my favorite book of 2012 is: The Deep Zone by James M. Tabor. I really loved this book. This is the first book by this author that I’ve read, but he’s also known for his book The Blind Descent which is true based account of two men’s exploration into the deepest cave in the world (which was also used for the move Sanctum I believe). The Deep Zone was an action packed, fast paced thriller that satisfied so many of my oh my gosh I love when this is in a book itches. Tabor also expertly balances telling different subjects experiences during the same time period in a way that makes you not rush to get back to the one side of the story that you are actually interested. I know that I can get that way if I’m following two characters through different concurrent journeys. It may work so well in this case since he is telling how different characters are effected by the same event. The Deep Zone definitely deserves a chance to be moved up your TBR pile.

So, as for the BEA books that I’m most looking forward too?

The Dog Stars by Peter Heller

I read an excerpt of this in the BEA Buzz Books on netgalley. I was going to scroll through to see which books I thought may be interesting and ended up stopping at this one (which is first in the collection) and immediately got hooked and started reading. I’ve been interested in the post apocalyptic and dystopian books lately and I think this will be an interesting take on the matter.

Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver 

This one is basically because I love Barbara Kingsolver. I’ve only read two of her books but loved them so much that I’m convinced that everything she writes will be gold and am willing to automatically give her the benefit of the doubt.

Those are the two that I know I’m interested in at the moment. I’m sure there will be buzz books that will come up during the week that I will want to pick up. What books are you guys looking forward to?

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Hah! When I subscribed to your blog yesterday I made the right decision. Why I’m saying this? Well, The Dog Stars and Flight Behavior are books I’m looking forward too, as well (and a few others, but these were my main ones).

    Nice!

    Reply
  2. I hadn’t heard of the new Kingsolver book but now I”m excited about it.

    Reply
  3. I definitely want to read something by Barbara Kingsolver this year!

    Thanks for sharing…and here’s MY ARMCHAIR BEA POST

    Reply
    • Definitely! My favorite of hers is Animal, Vegetable, Miracle which is a nonfiction. But I loved Poisonwood Bible as well!
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  4. I cannot wait for Cleo Coyle’s new coffeehouse mystery to be published in August. It is my favorite cozy mystery series and is more contemporary than most cozies. You see sex and blood mentioned which you will never see in an old fashioned cozy. Coyle is a NYC husband and wife writing team.

    Reply
    • I like mysteries but haven’t really read any of the cozy mysteries. It’s amazing how many genres I’ve learned about that I never knew existed until I started blogging and getting more into the book world!

      Reply
  5. I can’t wait to read The Dog Stars, I have it on my kindle so it shouldn’t be too long 🙂

    Reply
  6. I haven’t heard of any of those books, haha! Guess I better look them up 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 165 other followers

  • Goodreads

  • Book Journey’s Harry Potter Re-Read

