ArmchairBEA Introduction

Hi everyone! Here’s my answers to five of the ArmchairBEA interview questions so that you can get to know me better, hope that first time readers find it interesting and that returning readers can find out a little more about the person behind the blog. Now, on to the interview!

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

My name is Stacy, I’m 26 and work in the public health field. I live in West Virginia and started blogging in October 2011. One of the main reasons I got into the blogging is because I wanted to get more involved in the book and reading community. Living in the area I do and not having many bookish friends leaves me little to no one to talk about all my book geekiness. I figured that blogging would be a great way to get all my thoughts and idea out and get to meet other people who loved books as much as I do.

What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2012?

I’m currently reading Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison and In The Woods by Tana French. It’s definitely been a slow reading week for me. I think I may be in a reading slump.

My favorite book I’ve read so far in 2012 has to be State of Wonder by Ann Patchett

Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you.

I’m a knitter and a new spinner. I started knitting two years ago and I recently bought a spinning wheel and have started spinning. Knitting has definitely been competing with my reading time. Luckily I’ve discovered that audiobooks are a great way to do both!

Which is your favorite post that you have written that you want everyone to read?

I think it would have to be the book review of Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese. It was such a moving story and so well written that I was thrilled to get to share it with others. So I definitely want more people to read the post so that they can discover the book as well.

What literary location would you most like to visit? Why?

This may be the most boring answer area but I want to visit Boston/New England area. I love any book set in the area and there’s so much literary history and history in general that I think I would love it there.

 

Well I hope that gives you at least a glimpse of my personality. Thanks for stopping by and I look forward to getting to know you (or getting to know some of you better) through ArmchairBEA!

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Spinning sounds cool! And, I agree with you about the Boston area – although I have never been – LOL! Nice meeting you 🙂

    Reply
  2. Spinning looks like so much fun but I don’t knit so I don’t know what I’d do with the yarn if I took it up. I don’t need any more hobbies anyway!

    Reply
  3. Good Morning! Welcome to Armchair BEA. It is a pleasure to meet you! Boston is a beautiful place!

    Reply
  4. Yay for knitting and audio books!! I crochet. Not the same but close enough. I’d love to get into spinning. Just gotta get in shape!

    Reply
  5. Well, hello neighbor! I live on the other side of the mountains in Virginia! Great meeting you!

    I hope you enjoy Armchair BEA!

    Amanda

    Reply
  6. Hi Stacy, nice to meet you. I bet your goal to meet more bookish people has come true! Online there are so many of us! I’m now following your blog – I think we share the same book taste, from looking around.

    Reply
    • Hi! I will have to check your site out. I am at a health conference today and I am not getting to participate in ArmchairBEA as much as I would like today

      Reply
  7. Hey it’s great to meet you! Spinning huh? That sounds awesome! I want to learn to knit too! I do some cross stitch stuff, but I would like to learn how to do more needle work skills.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    Lindsay @ The Literary Darling

    Reply
  8. Glad to meet you through Armchair BEA. Your knitting and spinning hobbies sound interesting. I’ve always wanted to knit, but I’m not good at it. Don’t hear about many people who spin their own yard. I’ll be back to read more about it – and your books.

    Reply
  9. Spinning sounds really cool – how did you get started in that?

    I started listening to audio books last year and love them. I always have one going in the car and just recently figured out how to get them on my iPod, so now I listen while I walk on the treadmill at the gym. I also like listening to audios while cleaning!

    Here’s my Armchair BEA Intro Post.

    Reply
    • I was watching knitting video podcasts and many of them were spinners. So they would show their work and fiber and it got me interested. I started with a drop spindle and then I bought my wheel in March.

      Reply
  10. BooksDevoured

     /  June 4, 2012

    I got into blogging for pretty much the same reason as you, there are just not many readers that I know in my offline life. I love being a part of this community!

    I think it is very cool that you knit! I started learning on youtube but I get sidetracked from hobbies so easily! Maybe I should get back into it!

    Reply
    • Definitely give it another shot! I think the knitting video podcasts really helped get me motivated to get back into knitting after a few years break.

      Reply
  11. Another knitter. I’ve come across two back to back in the BEA intro posts. Something that I really want to learn to do, but haven’t given it a shot yet.

    Hope you’ve been enjoying ABEA!

    Reply
  12. Another Stacy! You’re the third book blogger who spells it the correct way 🙂 I’m reading Beloved right now and it’s my first Toni Morrison. Loving it.

    Reply
    • Yay! Great to meet another Stacy. I’m really starting to get into Song of Solomon, but it’s been a slow read for me. I’m enjoying the language and style.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 165 other followers

  • Goodreads

  • Book Journey’s Harry Potter Re-Read

