Book Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Karou  learned early on in life that the way to avoid having to keep up with the lies was to just say the truth with such a straight face that everyone just assumes you’re being sarcastic. How else was she going to explain the frequent disappearances and the cuts and bruises on her skin when she’s shows back up?

Karou is mysterious even to those who are closest to her and she spend her days filling sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real.  Those who see her work applaud her at her creativity. But maybe these creatures aren’t things of just her imagination?

Daughter of Smoke and Bone takes place in the beautiful back drop of Prague, but also takes us to many exotic locals. Karou is charged with running errands for a devil with a dwindling stock pile of teeth. She has no clue what his need of the teeth is but that’s not the only thing she is unaware. She’s unsure of who she is herself and where she came from and she is quickly being brought into the middle of an otherwordly battle that’s been going on for decades. She’ll have to learn quickly and may find the details to her own past along the way.

This novel was beautifully written. The world Taylor has created is rich with detail and interesting characters. Daughter of Smoke and Bone has filled my need for a new epic fantasy world. I did feel that the book got a little slow in the middle, but there was a turning point for me that totally had me hooked at the end and I can’t wait for the sequel.  I’m hoping that the characters get flushed out a  bit more and I can’t wait to see where she takes the story.

Interestingly my library had this book in the young adult section. I feel like it’s definitely on the upper range of young adult, along with book of the hunger games sort. There’s nothing completely explicit in it but there are battles and there is some other qualities that I think wouldn’t be easily understood by the younger YA crowd.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I have been wanting to read this for some time, as I keep hearing good things about it! Your review might help tip the scales for me 😛

    Reply
    • Definitely give it a try, as I said the middle got kind of slow but the end really hooked me. I think and hope that the series will get better as the writer develops.

      Reply
  2. Janis

     /  February 24, 2012

    It sounded very interesting on The book report, when Elaine Charles were reviewing it, but then I am a sucker for young adult books, I shall have to give it a try.

    Reply
    • I’m a sucker for YA too, especially when it comes to supernatural/fantasy types.

      I think I need to do some research and see what really constitutes a YA novel, such as age range and such. Because I know there’s that middle reader category too. I really didn’t read age appropriate when I was younger so it’s hard for me to tell.

      Reply
  3. I had no idea this was set in Prague. I loved my time in that city; I’ll read just about anything set there. Adding this to my TBR now. 🙂

    This is Bookzilla, stopping by from couchpotatocritic.wordpress.com. My stats indicate that your blog is subscribed to receive my updates. I’m sure you’ve seen my recent announcements about moving to a different domain, but I wanted to let you know just one more time. You can now find me at http://www.amypeveto.com — please drop by and (re)subscribe!

    Reply
  4. emmysondie

     /  March 30, 2012

    I haven’t read this one yet, but it’s on my shelf-it’s giving me puppy dog eyes and judging me for not reading it yet. O_o I’ll get to it soon!

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply
  5. emmysondie

     /  March 30, 2012

    I haven’t read this one yet, but I do own it. It’s sitting on my shelf at the moment, giving me puppy dog eyes and asking me why I haven’t read it yet. O_o I’ll get to it!

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 165 other followers

  • Goodreads

  • Book Journey’s Harry Potter Re-Read

