2012 TBR Pile Challenge

I’ve decided to sign up for the 2012 TBR Pile Challenge hosted by Roofbeam Reader.

You have to pick 12 books from your TBR pile that have to have been published prior to January 1, 2011. You also pick two alternate books in case one of the books you picked you just can’t get through. You have to post your list ahead of time and link it to Roof Beam Reader’s post. You can get more information about the challenge by clicking the image above.

Here’s my list:

1. The Sweetness at the Bottom of The Pie by Alan Bradley

2. Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson

3. The Postmistress by Sarah Blake

4. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austin

5. The Housekeeper and The Professor by Yoko Ogwa

6. The Nobodies Album by Carolyn Parkhurst

7. Ghostwalk by Rebecca Stott

8. The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson

9. The Poe Shadow by Matthew Pearl

10. The Double Bind by Chris Bohjalian

11. The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde

12. The Cookbook Collector by Allegra Goodman

Two Back Ups: The Eleventh Plague by John S. Marr, John Baldwin

Dark Angels by Karleen Koen

Looks to be a pretty decent list to me. Hopefully the challenges I have signed up for will keep me motivated through out the year and hopefully I’ll get some galleys to review in there as well! This is my first year that I’ve signed up for any challenges so I’m excited! What challenges are you signing up for next year?

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. What an intersting list!

    Northanger Abbey is my FAVORITE Austen novel. If you’re an Austen fan, you’ll see some weaknesses, but she’s also much more bold in this book than she is in most of her later works – some truly laugh out loud moments.

    I’m reading The Eyre Affair right now and loving it! I think it’s definitely a literary-person’s book, though – not sure I would appreciate it as much if I wasn’t such an avid reader (tons and tons of literary references).

    Glad you’re joining us! Good luck, and I look forward to reading your reviews!

    Reply
  2. Just finished ‘The Housekeeper and the Professor’ and loved it. Good on you for joining a challenge, have yet to do so, but this sounds like a good one.

    Reply
  1. Book Review: The Cookbook Collector by Allegra Goodman « readinginthemountains

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 165 other followers

  • Goodreads

  • Book Journey’s Harry Potter Re-Read

