Do You Read for the Season?

Do you like to pick out books that make you think of whatever season you’re in? That ski mystery for the winter or that beach thriller during the summer? Or do you let your books choose you regardless of the season?

I kind of do a mix of both. I rarely seek out a book specifically for it fitting the season, but I’m always thrilled when I find one, like the previously mentioned Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I had no idea how much that book was going to have a fall feel for me when I read it in the fall, that might have influenced it some, but I had picked it up because of the concept of the book.

I also pick up books about other seasons, especially summer time books in the winter, to remind me of the fonder days. Similarly there’s books that I wish that I’d read earlier in the season in order to utilize them more fully. I felt this way about Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver. There’s so many interesting ideas and tips for gardening, but you really need to read it in December/January to get on top of things. I’m thinking of re-reading it this year, as it’s one of my favorite books and I want to be able to utilize some of the things in it more fully and to help me plan the garden better.

So what about you? Do you read for the season? Have any winter books that you think I shouldn’t miss?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I definitely like to read books that correlate to the season — most particularly holiday reads.
    I like the look of your blog 🙂

    Reply
    • Cool! I’m thinking about searching for some Christmas themed books to start reading this month and see if I find any I like.

      Thanks for the compliment about the blog. I’m still new and trying to tweek and add things. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 165 other followers

  • Goodreads

  • Book Journey’s Harry Potter Re-Read

